Routes

Planner

Features

Updates

App

Login or Signup

Get the App

Login or Signup

Routes
Bike touring routes & trails
Belgium
Wallonia

Wayside Cross in Han/Tintigny – Seigneurie de Villemont loop from Virton

Routes
Bike touring routes & trails
Belgium
Wallonia

Wayside Cross in Han/Tintigny – Seigneurie de Villemont loop from Virton

Hard

16

riders

Wayside Cross in Han/Tintigny – Seigneurie de Villemont loop from Virton

04:02

48.3km

590m

Cycling

Hard bike ride. Very good fitness required. You may need to push your bike for some segments of this route. The starting point of the route is accessible with public transport.

Last updated: August 2, 2026

Tips

Your route passes through a protected area

Please check local regulations for:

Parc naturel de Gaume

Waypoints

A

Start point

Train Station

Get Directions

1

23.4 km

Wayside Cross in Han/Tintigny

Highlight • Monument

Wayside Cross in Han/Tintigny

Translated by Google •

Tip by

2

24.9 km

The Notre-Dame de l'Assomption church is a Catholic religious building located in Tintigny, in the province of Luxembourg in Belgium. A first church from the 16th century was restored in 1736. The church is a place of worship for the village's Catholic community.
The church is set back from the rest of the village. It is accessible by a staircase, housing a war memorial for both World Wars, from a small square below. The building, oriented towards the east as is Christian tradition, stands in the middle of an enclosed cemetery. Houses are located on the south and east sides of the cemetery. The north side of the church, for its part, overlooks the landscape below, which includes the Semois river followed by meadows.
More than for its architecture, the church is particularly known for its Baroque furnishings that decorate the nave and the sanctuary, several pieces of which are explicitly dated 1733. This constitutes one of the most beautiful ensembles in the province of Luxembourg.

Showing Translation

Tip by

3

25.7 km

Seigneurie de Villemont

Highlight • Historical Site

The Seigneurie de Villemont: From the Roman period to the French Revolution, Villemont (first its Roman villa, then its seigneurial house) played an important role in the history of the surrounding villages.

The Seigneurie de Villemont, total property without vassalage conditions (1270) of the County of Chiny, saw a large number of noble families succeed each other.

Residence of the Lord of Villemont, whose Seigneurie during the Ancien Régime extended over more than 6,000 hectares and encompassed the villages forming the current municipality of Tintigny (except Rossignol and Le Menil).
Since 1097, several families have succeeded each other at the head of Villemont. The oldest are the Wez, a family originating from Wez (currently spelled: Wé), a small village not far from Carignan: the Seigneurie was indeed part of the Archbishopric of Trier and the deanery of Yvoix (Carignan).


After the Wez, the Barbançon family took charge of the estate. Jean de Barbançon inherited the estate around 1400. Under the Barbançons, the estate was burned and looted several times by French soldiers who regularly invaded Luxembourg. The last of the family, Bonne de Barbançon, inherited the estate in 1612. She married Philippe de Mérode. The Mérode family owned Villemont until 1676.

By marriage, the estate became the possession of the illustrious Trazegnies family, and it remained so until the French Revolution. Obviously, over the centuries, the Seigneurie experienced all the eras that the Low Countries lived through: Catholic, Burgundian, Spanish, Austrian…

At the Revolution, the estate was partly sold to the d'Armethon family.
Then the castle belonged to the d'Huart family and currently to the de Jamblinne de Meux family.
On August 22, 1914, the castle was burned down and rebuilt in 1922, almost identically to the 18th-century castle.

Showing Translation

Tip by

4

40.3 km

Saint Bernard Church; Meix-devant-Virton

Highlight • Religious Site

This three-nave sanctuary of neoclassical inspiration was built around 1870. It was restored in 1906 and 1952. Under the old regime, the church was part of the Orval estate.

Translated by Google •

Tip by

B

48.3 km

End point

Train Station

Loading

Way Types & Surfaces

Way Types

30.0 km

9.83 km

4.10 km

2.13 km

1.69 km

442 m

173 m

Surfaces

25.7 km

12.2 km

7.99 km

2.28 km

114 m

Sign up to see more specific route details

Sign up for free

Elevation

Elevation

Nothing selected – click and drag below to see the stats for a specific part of the route.

Sign up to see more specific route details

Sign up for free

Weather

Powered by Foreca

Tuesday 18 August

24°C

16°C

83 %

Additional weather tips

Max wind speed: 17.0 km/h

to get more detailed weather forecasts along your route

Comments

guide_signup

Want to know more?

Sign up for a free komoot account to join the conversation.

Sign up for free

Our route recommendations are based on thousands of hikes, rides, and runs completed by other people on komoot.

Save

Edit route

Download GPX

Move start point

Print

Share

Embed on a website

Report an Issue

Report restricted access

Nearby routes

Moderate

4.5

183

Mam Vëlo iwwer Kopp an Dall

01:25h

23.5km

190m

Explore
RoutesRoute plannerFeaturesRedeem a voucherHikesMTB TrailsRoad cycling routesBikepackingSitemap
Download the app
Follow Us on Socials

© komoot GmbH

Privacy Policy