Routes

Planner

Features

Updates

App

Login or Signup

Get the App

Login or Signup

Routes
Places to see
United Kingdom
England
West Midlands Region
Worcestershire
Wychavon

Flyford Flavell

Attractions and Places To See around Flyford Flavell - Top 20

Best attractions and places to see around Flyford Flavell include a blend of natural beauty, historical landmarks, and local charm within the Worcestershire countryside. The area features ancient woodlands, historic churches, and picturesque bridges. Visitors can explore a variety of sites that showcase the region's heritage and natural landscape.

Best attractions and places to see around Flyford Flavell

  • The most popular attractions is Pershore Old Bridge, a historical site that was a key crossing point for traders between London and Worcester. Originally built in the 1400s, it has undergone various repairs over centuries.
  • Another must-see spot is St John the Baptist Church, Grafton Flyford, a religious building that incorporates much of its original 14th-century work. The church features a 15th-century east window and a 14th-century tower.
  • Visitors also love Grafton Wood Nature Reserve, an ancient semi-natural woodland. It is known for its diverse wildlife, including rare butterflies and bats, and features pleasant woodland trails.
  • Flyford Flavell is known for historical sites, natural reserves, and religious buildings. The area offers a variety of attractions to see and explore, from ancient structures to protected woodlands.
  • The attractions around Flyford Flavell are appreciated by the komoot community, with 47 upvotes and 17 photos shared.

Last updated: August 12, 2026

Pershore Old Bridge

Highlight • Historical Site

This was a key crossing point for traders between London and Worcester. Originally built in the 1400s, various repairs have taken place over the centuries to create the grand structure we see today. There is a popular picnic spot nearby, from which the Pershore Bridges Circular Walk begins. See : komoot.com/guide/712082 for more inspiration.

Tip by

See hikes here

Send to Phone

Save

Inkberrow Millennium Green

Highlight • Viewpoint

The Millennium Green is situated on the eastern side of the village of Inkberrow in Worcestershire.
Inkberrow is on the A422 main road about half way between Worcester and Stratford-upon-Avon in the English West Midlands.

The entrance can be found at the bottom of the hill down the lane past the church.   In the centre of the village, by the village green, go towards the Old Bull Inn, past the lychgate entrance to St Peter's Church, and down the hill. (approx 250 yards from the A422).

The Millennium Green was officially opened in June 2000. It was supported by Inkberrow Parish Council, The Millennium Commission, English Heritage, The Countryside Agency, Worcestershire County Council and Aqua Vitae 21. It has since been designated a Special Wildlife Site and is now in the
Higher Level Stewardship scheme administered by Natural England.

The Green is some 8.3 acres in extent, divided into two fields. It is owned and managed as a charity - the Inkberrow Millennium Green Trust - with the land vested in the Official Custodian of Charities. The Trust deeds require that the Green be open and "be able to be enjoyed by people of all ages and physical abilities, be an attractive place for people to exercise, pursue leisure activities and pastimes consistent with shared enjoyment of the whole of the land" and to "include significant 'natural' areas where people can enjoy nature and wildlife at first hand".

The Green is managed by the Trustees to meet these objectives, including regular work to sustain, restore and enhance a variety of habitats with ecological and social benefits for the Inkberrow community. The Trustees work in conjunction with outside agencies, such as Historic England and Natural England to ensure compliance with requirements such as those contained in the Ancient Monuments and Archaeological Areas Act (1979) and the Higher Level Stewardship (HLS) agreement.

Tip by

Save

Sign up now to discover places like this

Get recommendations on the best single tracks, peaks, & plenty of other exciting outdoor places.

Sign up for free

St John the Baptist Church, Grafton Flyford

Highlight • Historical Site

The church of ST. JOHN BAPTIST consists of a chancel 26½ ft. by 15¾ ft., nave 44 ft. by 21 ft., north chapel, south porch, and west tower 11 ft. square. These measurements are all internal.
The church, with the exception of the 14th-century tower, was entirely rebuilt in 1875, but the old work appears to have been very largely re-used. The modern work is already getting into a very bad state of repair.
The chancel has a 15th-century east window of three lights with a segmental pointed head. In the north wall is a square-headed 14th-century window of two ogee trefoil-headed lights. In the south wall are two square-headed two-light windows and a priest's door, mostly modern. On this side is a single sedile with a cusped head, and near it a pointed piscina with the bowl missing. An internal string-course, largely modern, is carried round the chancel. The chancel arch is of two chamfered orders dying into the wall; the voussoirs are small and regular and are of late 13th or early 14th-century date.
In the north wall of the nave is a pointed 14thcentury arch of two chamfered orders opening into a small chapel with a single-light window on the east and west. Further west is a pointed window of the same date with two lights and a traceried head. In the south wall are two windows, each of two lights and similar to that on the north of the chancel; between them is a plain pointed door. All these features have apparently been restored and reset.
The 14th-century tower is faced with ashlar and three stages high with low diagonal buttresses to the western angles of the ground stage. The tower arch is acutely pointed and of two chamfered orders. This stage rests on a deeply moulded plinth and has a pointed 15th-century west window of three cinquefoiled lights. The second stage is lighted by loops only, but the third stage has a pointed 14th-century window of two trefoiled ogee lights in each face. The parapet is embattled, with carved gargoyles at the angles of the string and panelled and crocketed pinnacles rising above them. From within it rises a low octagonal pyramid of stone capped by a truncated pinnacle set diagonally.
The fittings include a 17th-century communion table with turned legs, a 15th-century semi-octagonal pulpit (on a modern base) having a moulded rail and traceried heads to the panels, and a modern font. In the north chapel is a broken marble monument to Roger Stonehall, who died in 1645. Under the tower are roughly designed paintings on boards of the evangelistic symbols with black letter labels, perhaps of the 16th century; here is also a painted achievement of the royal arms of Charles II inscribed 1687 C.R. In the tracery of the east window are some fragments of 15th-century glass tabernacle work and in the north chancel window are two shields, one with the arms of Mortimer and the other imperfect with those of Beauchamp. In the west window are fragments of white and yellow 15th-century glass in the tracery.
There are five bells, all cast by John Martin in 1676: the tenor is inscribed, 'All men that here my roring sound repent before you ly in ground, M. Robert Baker 1676'; the fourth, 'We wish in heven theer souls may sing that caused us six here for to ring, Amell Doxly, Richard Haynes C.W. 1676'; the third, 'Be it known to all that doth wee see John Martin of Worcester, he made wee 1676'; the second, 'All prayse and glory be to God for ever 1676'; and the treble, 'Jesus be our good speed, God Save the King 1676.'
The plate includes a cup and cover paten, London, 1571, and a plate, London, 1679, inscribed 'Grafton Flyford.'
The registers are in one volume as follows: baptisms 1676 to 1813, burials 1676 to 1812, marriages 1678 to 1777.

Tip by

Save

Grafton Wood Nature Reserve

Highlight (Segment) • Natural Monument

An ancient woodland with coppice and large oaks

Jointly owned with Butterfly Conservation, Grafton has been at the heart of one of Worcestershire’s great conservation successes.  The wood is the centre of the only colony of brown hairstreak butterflies in the Midlands.  These elusive butterflies, on the wing in August and September, have been the subject of a long-term project to ensure their survival.  By working with local landowners and encouraging appropriate maintenance of hedgerows, volunteers from both conservation charities have helped the butterflies to increase in range and in numbers.
Grafton Wood is an ancient semi-natural broad-leaved woodland and, until the 1950s was traditionally managed as coppice-with-standards that provided materials for products such as broom handles, pea sticks, hedge-laying, clothes pegs, spars for thatching and firewood.  Our management today aims to replicate this tradition and involves widening the rides through the woodland, coppicing and creating glades.  We also ensure that there are scrubby areas containing the young blackthorn bushes that are vital for brown hairstreaks to survive.
The majority of the canopy at Grafton is ash and oak although we also have a small-leaved lime coppice stool that we think must have originally started as one lime tree at least a thousand years ago.  In many places there is a dense shrub layer of field maple, hawthorn and hazel.  The two compartments of conifers that were planted in the 1960s have largely been removed in 2010.
It’s not just brown hairstreak butterflies that visitors to Grafton Wood should keep a look out for.  The wood is also important for other woodland butterflies including silver-washed fritillaries and white admirals.  After careful surveying of the habitat and flowering species in the wood pearl-bordered fritillaries were released into the woodland in 2011 in the hope that they would then naturally re-colonise the wood after a 30 year absence.  Notable moths include drab looper, rosy footman, Devon carpet and waved black.
Many fungi have been recorded in the wood and it also supports a distinctive flora including herb-Paris, adder’s-tongue fern, violet helleborine, spurge laurel and bird’s-nest orchid.  Birds including buzzard, goldcrest, treecreeper, lesser and great spotted woodpeckers are regularly seen in the wood and the adjacent meadows and orchards are important for green woodpeckers.  Bechstein’s bats were recently discovered in the wood and the colony is thought to be the most northerly breeding roost in the UK.

Tip by

Save

St Peter's Church, Inkberrow

Highlight • Religious Site

According to the Domesday Book there was a church in Inkberrow in Saxon times, and a minster is believed to have existed as early as 700 AD. No traces of either the Saxon church or the minster remain. However, the current church is believed to have been built on the site of the minster, and also perhaps a twelfth century wood and earthwork castle destroyed by Henry III in 1233. The current church probably dates from the 13th century, and was not built on the site of the Saxon church.

The earliest remaining architectural feature in the church is the north doorway, which dates from the 13th century. When the north aisle was added to the church around 1480, the old doorway was moved outward and re-used.

The north aisle contains several wall monuments, and was originally shorter than its current length. A fellowship centre has been created, restoring the north aisle to the purpose for which it was originally built.

The north chapel, also called St Catherine's or the Lady Chapel, is part of the original church structure. It used to be fully enclosed, and was originally the vestry. The east wall contains remnants of a 15th century stained glass window. To the left of this window, beneath an 18th century wall monument, is a shallow recess for a figure.

 The chapel contains a Tudor altar table, and the church's remembrance book.Early in the 16th century the north aisle was extended over the vestry and a wide archway opened into the chancel. The chancel was rebuilt in 1390. In 1887, the east and south walls were again rebuilt. The south wall was moved outward a few inches, the chancel arch was reconstructed using the old stones, and the roof was renewed.

The stained glass windows of St. Peter and St. Paul and St. Francis of Assisi and St Anne, date from 1899 and 1920 respectively.

Mr. Sneyd-Kynnersley was a churchwarden and trustee of the church charity, and the Hunt family were benefactors of the church.
 
The south transept may have been added as a chantry chapel shortly after 1357 to pray daily for the souls of members of the Colman family. It may have been the original St. Catherine's chapel.

Alternatively, it may have been built around 1390 by the Savage family of Dormston. Whatever its origins, only the original arch remains. The Chapel was rebuilt, and probably extended to its current size in 1784.
 
The altar tomb of painted white marble is to the memory of John Savage who in 1609 bought the manor of Edgioke just outside Inkberrow village but within the parish bounds. He died on the 22nd December 1631. On the base is his effigy in full armour. The hands and feet are missing, believed to have been vandalised by Cromwell's troops. On the sides of the base were the kneeling figures of his ten children, some of which have been removed. On top of the arched canopy are three small figures representing 'Time', 'Hope' and 'Faith', together with the Savage coat of arms.
 
The nave was part of the original structure, but was altered sometime between 1390 and 1420. The windows in the south wall are 15th century. The one nearest to the tower contains some stained glass of that period. In 1839, new box pews were installed bringing the seating capacity of the church to 504. By 1887, the church had become so damp that a complete restoration was required. The rotten wood of the floor was renewed, and several 17th and 18th century headstones were laid in the floor.

The font dates from around 1200 AD, and being square is typical of a late Norman font. In 1839, it was cleaned and placed under the arch linking the chancel to the south transept, near the pulpit. It was moved to its current position opposite the south door of the nave in 1887.

The tower is three storeys high and was built shortly after 1420 by the Dyson family. The west window which cannot be seen from inside the church, and the west doorway are 15th century. The organ is housed on a raised platform on the ground floor, with the clock and bell ringers' chamber on the second floor, and the church's six bells on the third. The tower was restored in 2000.

In 1887, the internal gallery was removed and the archway opened out to reveal the original 15th century west window. It was enclosed again in 1940 when the early 19th century organ was installed. The gallery was re-instated at the same time.

Legend refers to 'Intebors ting-tangs' (small bells) suggesting that the Saxon church had bells. The earliest mention of bells in the current church is in 1544, when Margaret Hunt bequeathed money for the casting of bells. The six bells were recast and made heavier in 1868, at a cost of £ 170. In 1658 20 shillings was provided for a person to ring the bells every Lord's day. This was equivalent to a labourer's wages for six weeks. In 1768, three shillings was spent to provide ale for the bell ringers, equivalent to around 125 pints.

A wooden board lists the parish vicars since 1268. Seven vicars of Inkberrow died during the years 1349, 1361, 1362 and 1369, the times that the Black Death ravaged England. Due to their vocation of visiting the sick, administering the last rites and burying the dead, many priests died during times of plague. In the diocese of Worcester, 80 clergymen died of plague between March and September 1349.
The original 13th century vestry was located where the current St. Catherine's chapel is. It was moved to its present position in 1968, and screened off using 17th century oak panelling. On the south side of the screen, Charles I is depicted in armour before the battle of Edgehill. It is interesting to note that Charles' head is severed from his body.
 
The stained glass in the window in the west wall of the vestry is 15thcentury, and depicts St. Catherine and another saint, crowned and holding a staff. Such fragments are rare. In 1547, following the Reformation, King Edward VI ordered that no images of saints should remain in churches, even in glass. Due to the cost of the wholesale removal of all stained glass windows of saints, they were only replaced once they had decayed.
Outside the main body of the church, the north porch was added during the 15th century. It contains a memorial stone to Thomas Dyson dated 1651. A wooden plaque to the right of the door commemorates the 1887 restoration.
 
The arch over the outer entrance has carved stops depicting human heads. The left hand gargoyle is holding a leather bottle typical of the period. The rest of the porch was re-built using the original stones in 1887. On the outer wall of the vestry, a straight line can be seen in the stone work (14) where the north aisle was added to the church in 1480.

It has been estimated that in excess of 20,000 bodies have been laid to rest in Inkberrow churchyard. Despite Kington and Dormston having their own ancient churches, where baptisms and marriages were performed, the dead from these parishes were buried at Inkberrow until 1837. In addition, the churchyard of St. Peter's served as the burial ground to St. Paul's, Cookhill, until the consecration of its burial ground in 1932. St. Peter's burialground was extended to the south-west in 1857 and to the north-east in 1945.
To the rear of the church, on the outer wall of the south transept, there is a "mass clock" (15). This is a semi-circular sun dial scratched on the wall. This was used to indicate the times of services in the days before mechanical clocks. Its position close to ground level suggests that it belongs to an earlier structure, which was re-used when the south transept was re-built in 1784. The engraved GH above the mass clock is the remnant of an inscription GH 1814, the significance of which is not known.

When the north aisle was extended over the original vestry around 1480, the vestry was rebuilt askew from the original foundations. This can be seen in the lower courses in the outside of the east wall of the north chapel (16).
 
To the front of the church, the lych-gate was erected in 1919 as a war memorial. It contains two plaques to the Inkberrow men who died in the first and second World Wars. The sundial close by is believed to be the one bought in 1705 to replace the previous sundial which had been stolen from the churchyard.
 On 10th May 1645, King Charles I slept in the vicarage on a tour through Worcestershire. He left behind one of his map books, which is now in the custody of the vicar and stored in the County Record Office. His soldiers' wages were lost, buried somewhere in or near the village. In retribution for housing Charles, Cromwell is reputed to have burned the vicarage down.

Tip by

Save

Sign up for free to discover even more attractions around Flyford Flavell.

Sign up for free

Already have an account?

Start today with a free account

Your next adventure awaits.

Login or Signup

Popular around Flyford Flavell

Wychavon Way — Hike rolling Cotswold hills and Worcestershire vales

Road Cycling Routes around Flyford Flavell

Hiking around Flyford Flavell

Cycling around Flyford Flavell

MTB Trails around Flyford Flavell

Running Trails around Flyford Flavell

Other adventures around Flyford Flavell

Wychavon Way — Hike rolling Cotswold hills and Worcestershire vales

Hiking Collection by

Alex Foxfield

Tips from the Community

Cheng
August 19, 2026, Pershore Old Bridge

Closed for now.

0

0

Beautiful medieval bridge over river Avon. Incredibly well preserved given its age.

0

0

The old bridge is picturesque, and its also a great place to while away an hour or two by the river.

0

0

Such a beautiful place full of wildflowers and ponds. It is a circular walk. With a slow pace and rest on the bench at the top, it will take you about 30 minutes to walk around. Surrounded by meadows and benches all over the place. Beautiful little village

0

0

Quiet Anglican church with some gorgeous mosaics inside. Nice brown signpost on the nearest A-Road, so you won't miss the turn.

0

0

Park free at the bridge. Make sure you walk to Wick and back. Footpath starts at the old bridge, then across field to the village.

0

0

This was a key crossing point for traders between London and Worcester. Originally built in the 1400s, various repairs have taken place over the centuries to create the grand structure we see today. There is a popular picnic spot nearby, from which the Pershore Bridges Circular Walk begins. See : https://www.komoot.com/guide/712082 for more inspiration.

1

0

Great little cycling stop, a bench in the car park and places to lock your bikes.

0

0

Frequently Asked Questions

What natural attractions can I explore around Flyford Flavell?

The primary natural attraction is Grafton Wood Nature Reserve, an ancient semi-natural woodland known for its diverse wildlife, including rare butterflies and bats. It features pleasant woodland trails. Additionally, the nearby Inkberrow Millennium Green offers beautiful wildflowers and ponds, ideal for a leisurely stroll.

Are there any historical sites to visit in the area?

Yes, the area is rich in history. You can visit Pershore Old Bridge, a historical site that was a crucial crossing point for traders since the 1400s. Also, explore St John the Baptist Church, Grafton Flyford, which incorporates much of its original 14th-century work, and St Peter's Church in Flyford Flavell, retaining its 15th-century tower. Further afield, you can find sites like Leigh Court Barn, Witley Court and Gardens, and Hailes Abbey.

What kind of outdoor activities can I do near Flyford Flavell?

Flyford Flavell is a great starting point for various outdoor activities. You can find several easy hiking routes, such as the Inkberrow Millennium Green loop or the Grafton Wood loop. For cyclists, there are numerous road cycling routes, including longer rides to Worcester or around Rous Lench. Mountain biking trails are also available, with routes extending towards Pershore and Bredon Hill. You can find more details on these activities in the dedicated guides for easy hikes, road cycling, and MTB trails around Flyford Flavell.

Are there family-friendly attractions around Flyford Flavell?

Many attractions in the area are suitable for families. Pershore Old Bridge is a popular spot for picnics, and the nearby Inkberrow Millennium Green offers easy, circular walks through wildflowers and ponds. Grafton Wood Nature Reserve also provides pleasant woodland trails for families to explore nature.

Where can I find local art or cultural experiences?

The Kingcot Gallery in Flyford Flavell specializes in glass art and showcases unique pieces by local Worcestershire artisans, including watercolours and felted artwork. This offers a chance to appreciate regional artistic talent.

What do visitors enjoy most about the attractions around Flyford Flavell?

Visitors particularly appreciate the blend of natural beauty and historical significance. The ancient woodlands of Grafton Wood Nature Reserve are highly rated for their wildlife, while Pershore Old Bridge is loved for its picturesque setting and historical context. The quiet, traditional charm of the churches like St John the Baptist Church, Grafton Flyford, also receives positive feedback.

Are there any pubs or places to eat in Flyford Flavell?

Yes, The Boot Inn, located in the center of Flyford Flavell, is a traditional pub with parts dating back to the 13th century and is known for its restaurant. It's a great spot to enjoy a meal or a drink after exploring the area.

Are there any accessible trails or attractions for visitors with mobility needs?

The Inkberrow Millennium Green is noted for being wheelchair accessible, offering a beautiful area with wildflowers and ponds that can be enjoyed by people of all physical abilities. Its circular walk is relatively easy and features benches for resting.

What is the best time of year to visit Flyford Flavell for outdoor activities?

The Worcestershire countryside around Flyford Flavell is beautiful throughout the year. Spring and summer are ideal for enjoying wildflowers and butterflies in places like Grafton Wood and Inkberrow Millennium Green. Autumn offers stunning foliage for walks, while winter can provide crisp, quiet trails. For specific wildlife, such as the brown hairstreak butterfly, August and September are key months.

Can I find any unique historical structures or ancient monuments nearby?

Beyond the immediate village, within a reasonable driving distance, you can discover several significant heritage sites. These include Leigh Court Barn, a remarkable example of medieval carpentry, and Belas Knap Long Barrow, a particularly fine Neolithic long barrow dating back to approximately 3800 BC. Odda's Chapel, one of England's most complete surviving Saxon churches, is also within reach.

Are there any specific walking routes that start directly from Flyford Flavell?

Flyford Flavell serves as a starting point for several circular routes through attractive countryside and open farmland. These include sections of The Millennium Way, offering various options for exploring the rural landscape directly from the village. You can find detailed easy hiking routes, such as the Grafton Wood loop, starting from Flyford Flavell in the easy hikes guide.

What kind of wildlife can I expect to see in the natural reserves?

At Grafton Wood Nature Reserve, you can spot diverse wildlife, including the rare brown hairstreak butterfly and Bechstein's bat. The wood is also home to other woodland butterflies like silver-washed fritillaries and white admirals, notable moths, and various fungi species. Birds such as buzzards, goldcrests, and woodpeckers are regularly seen.

Most popular routes around Flyford Flavell

Road Cycling Routes around Flyford Flavell

Store rating

Get inspired with the komoot mobile app

With a free komoot account, you can easily find, customize, and navigate endless outdoor adventures.

or

Join komoot Now

Store rating

Explore more

Still not found the Highlight you’re looking for? See guides of the top attractions in other regions:

EveshamWickhamfordAston SomervilleChildswickhamBretfortonNorth And Middle LittletonSouth LittletonBadseyAldingtonHoneybourneBroadwayPebworthOffenhamHinton On The GreenUpton WarrenBickmarshElmbridgeCondertonBeckfordSedgeberrowOverburyAshton Under HillCharltonEckingtonBredon'S NortonKemertonPirtonDrakes Broughton And WadboroughBesfordNethertonDeffordPeopletonStoultonStrenshamBredonHartleburyElmley CastleOmbersleyBirlinghamGreat CombertonLittle CombertonNorton Juxta KempseyBricklehamptonWhite Ladies AstonNorton And LenchwickOddingleyWhittingtonChurch LenchCropthorneChurchillUpton SnodsburySpetchleyHill And MoorFladburyElmley LovettBroughton HackettCleeve PriorSalwarpePershorePinvinBishamptonCookhillDroitwich SpaHampton LovettBredicotWickHimbletonThrockmortonHindlipWyre PiddleStock And BradleyNorth ClainesCrowleTibbertonMartin HussingtreeHadzorHuddingtonInkberrowGrafton FlyfordWestwoodDoverdaleNorth PiddleDodderhillHanburyAbbots MortonNaunton BeauchampKingtonDormstonAbbertonHarvingtonRous Lench

Nearby adventure guides

Things to Do around Kington

background

Get ready to conquer new peaks

Sign up for Free

Explore
RoutesRoute plannerFeaturesRedeem a voucherHikesMTB TrailsRoad cycling routesBikepackingSitemap
Download the app
Follow Us on Socials

© komoot GmbH

Privacy Policy